LA Trip – Day One

Touched down in LA yesterday for the first time.

Can’t believe I’ve never been out to Cali – well aside from when I was a baby on a family trip but that doesn’t count.

Felt great to step out of the airport and take off my hoodie and put on a pair of sunglasses.  It was a bright sunny day and the temperature was around 27 degrees.

The nice weather  helped ease the pain of waiting for my luggage which hadn’t arrived yet.   My connection in Denver was so tight that it didn’t make it on the flight to LA.  Fortunately it wasn’t going to be a long delay so I waited around the airport for another hour and a half.  Otherwise I might have had to do it up Big L style and go “Shopping when the plane land”

Once the luggage arrived, I picked up the car from Avis and headed to the hotel.  I’d heard from friends that the Roosevelt was a nice place to stay and I was pleasantly surprised to see it was even better than I imagined.  They comped me up to a pool side view and I took in the sights for a moment, but couldn’t chill too long – had to head out to the party.

I was off to an event put on by the Canadian Consulate and CIMA at the legendary House of Blues.

I walked in behind Dead Mau5 and was surprised to see the place packed since it was just getting started.

My man Rich Aucoin hit the stage and tore it up as always.  We had performed alongside him at a CMJ event in NYC a couple years back and I was impressed by how interactive his show is.  How many artists do you know bring out a parachute for their show??

The headliner was Melanie Fiona and she didn’t disappoint.  I’d never seen her live but I will be checking for her next show in Toronto after seeing how she tore it down.

I thought the highlight of the night was getting a chance to kick it with comedian Martin Short for a minute, but as I came back to the hotel in the early hours of the morning I saw Kid Cudi chillin out and he asked me where the party was at.

But at 2 am I was exhausted since it was 5 am Toronto time and I’d be traveling all day long while still trying to adjust from getting back from Europe just a few days before.

I managed to get a few hours of rest and headed out to pick up young Beatchild from the airport…

Bout to go down once again…

In the words of my man P Duece – rumour has it we going harder tonight!

Leave a Reply

