Remembrance Day

Remembrance Day hits home when you have a family member that has made the sacrifice of fighting for his/her country.  For me, it was my grandfather.  Even though he passed several years ago, I often think about him – especially every November 11th.

A few years ago I wrote a song about him…  The song is called the “The Tin Man” and is produced by good friend and musical collaborator DJ Speed.  The first thing I noticed when playing the instrumental was the sample “What would I do… if I could feel?”  It’s from the Tinman in The Wizard of Oz.  For me, it made me think, what would I do if I was in his position and left home to fight for my country.

My grandfathers story alone is memorable.  He was shot twice in one battle and left for dead in a pile of bodies. Another soldier found him and saved his life.

Remembrance Day isn’t only about looking to the past… Last month, my cousin went to Afghanistan so he’s in my prayers for a safe return home.

Here is a link to the song and video:

A couple of years ago CBC aired a piece on the song… you can find the link below

http://www.cbc.ca/thecurrent/2005/200511/20051111.html

Last Word: The Tin Man

Earlier this week we talked about how hip-hop has crossed the racial divide. Well, today, on Remembrance Day, we’re going to show you how it might also cross a generational one

Toronto rap artist Duane Gibson  , or “D.O.”—his emcee name—-wrote a song honouring his grandfather, Larry Gibson. He was a black Nova Scotian who fought in the second World War with the Cape Breton Highlanders. Larry Gibson was shot twice in one battle and left for dead in a pile of bodies. Another soldier found him and saved his life. So to commemorate his grandfather’s contribution to the war, D.O. wrote a song called, “The Tin Man” and we played this song to end our show this week.

Leave a Reply

